Pass the Branch: What Would Your Character Do?

Posted on Updated on

A busy, awesome week of progress and change for good this past w6854263759_5278eb4e4d_oeek–not much to update on personally though, other than to happily say that I think I have nearly mastered the art of the cover letter.  Hopefully, all the folk I’ve applied to so far think so as well.

The beloved and I are in the midst of preparing for his birthday getaway to Dex Con 18–a board gaming convention, and my first ever convention over all that doesn’t have to do with academia!  It’s promising to be an exciting time, made even more exciting by the fact that I have left myself open slots for each day there to sneak away and fulfill my Camp NaNoWrimo quota.

With so much going on but seemingly nothing of note to say, I was a bit nervous that I wasn’t going to have anything to write about this week, but nature proved me wrong quite literally this morning.

Every day, just about, I get up and I go about my getting-ready functions, and leave the house to go for a walk.  More often than not, I’m taking the long way to the coffee shop in town, which brings me through a nature trail alongside the river.  It’s a paved path, but this time of year, after all the rain we’ve had, the trail is overgrown with foliage.

In my path, where had been nothing before, was now a low hanging branch from a bush.  Well, not quite a branch.  It was a green, soft looking spine, like a vine pretending to be a branch, and it was stretched out, a bold imposing limb across my path. It stretched as though trying to touch the foliage across the way.

Admittedly, I was on my phone at the time, not quite paying mind, but when I saw the branch, I had a second to react and not a second longer.  And I chose to bow beneath it, and move on.

As I kept walking, I realized that in that one second I could have chosen to do anything, but I bowed.  I feel like that says a lot about me.  I respect nature and I respect in general, and I would rather avoid conflict but always follow through.  This started to get me thinking about writing, again, and the notion that this could prove to be a valuable prompt for character development.

What might you have done?  And specifically, what would your characters do?  There’s a lot of prompts out there that I’ve participated in, ranging from character’s favorite foods to who would your character sleep with if they could sleep with anyone and why.  There are lots of ways to project how characters will deal with conflict and interact with the world around them and how this makes them who they are.

So, how would your character pass a low hanging ranch, and what would it say about them?  Would they bow under? Swat it aside or break it clean?  Go around it (or try, perhaps, to leap over it?)  Or might they turn around and go another way?  Perhaps they would lift it up gently, or partake in a spontaneous limbo game.  I don’t know.  I can imagine a great number of ways and meanings.

Once more amazed at how simple daily happenings can provoke deep thought over something.

See you next week–Happy WriMoing in advance!

Leave a Reply

